The Valuation and Financing of Lady M Confections case study discusses the financial analysis of the company. The analysis will assist in determining the company’s financial and operational strength which will enable the company to grow and prosper in the future.
Mihir A. Desai; Elizabeth A. Meyer
Harvard Business Review (215047-PDF-ENG)
June 18, 2015
Case questions answered:
Case study questions answered in the first solution:
- How many cakes would Lady M Confections need to sell in a year in order to break-even? Does this number seem feasible?
- Assuming sales in year one are break-even, how quickly would sales need to grow after the first year to pay the start-up costs within 5 years? Is this growth rate feasible?
- What is your recommendation? Should Romaniszyn open the new location in the World Trade Center?
- What is Lady M’s enterprise value? How much of an equity stake should they be giving up to the Chinese investors?
- What do you think of Romaniszyn’s and Tom’s baseline assumptions? Are they realistic?
- Do you think they should take the Chinese investors’ offer? Why/why not?
Case study questions answered in the second solution:
- Based on the financial statements of Lady M Confections, you are required to perform the following analysis by comparing the performance of the year 2012 with 2013:
Common size analysis
Percentage change analysis
Du Pont system
- Your analysis should be comprehensive and should provide a broad view of the performance of the company.
Not the questions you were looking for? Submit your questions & get answers.
Case answers for The Valuation and Financing of Lady M Confections
This case solution includes an Excel file with calculations.
You will receive access to two case study solutions! The second is not yet visible in the preview.
Executive Summary – The Valuation and Financing of Lady M Confections
In order to solve this case, a break-even analysis was developed and Lady M Confections enterprise was valued with the objective of making two fundamental decisions, the first related with the decision that the owners must make about opening a new location in the World Trade Center and the second decision based on accepting the offer of Chinese investors for $ 10 million-plus line of credit.
In relation to the opening of the new boutique, the project seems viable, since from a 13.19% sales growth rate the company can recover its initial construction costs in 5 years. This rate is quite conservative and fits the historical growth of the company.
Finally, it is recommended that the company ask for a bank loan at a low-interest rate, instead of accepting the offer of Chinese investors, to which it would have to give a large part of its equity- stake (30% or more depending on the value of the company).
Part 1. Exhibits from Case “The Valuation and Financing of Lady M Confections” – please see attached Excel spreadsheet.
1. How many cakes would Lady M Confections need to sell in a year in order to break-even? Does this number seem feasible?
Exhibit 1a- Break-Even Point Analysis of Lady M Confections for 2014
Exhibit 1b- Break-Even Point Analysis of Bryant Park Location for 2013
Answer: Considering the break-even analysis shown above, for which a cake price of $ 80 and a cost of goods sold of 50% of gross sales is assumed, reveals that the gross sales of the new location for 2014 will be of $ 1,887,988. Thus, for the indicated sale price, Lady M Confections must sell 23600 cakes per year or 65 units per day, to achieve break-even in order to make the opening of the new location worthwhile. (Exhibit 1a)
To determine, if the breakeven point for the World Trade Center is feasible, an analysis was made based on the semiannual sales reached in 2013 by Bryant Park location that allows predicting annual sales of approximately $ 2,304,001. Thus, considering the sale price of $ 80, Bryan Park sells approximately 28800 cakes annually or 79 units daily. Therefore, the breakeven point of the new location seems feasible by requiring a number of units sold lower than the sales required by Bryan Park.
2. Assuming sales in year one are break-even, how quickly would sales need to grow after the first year to pay the start-up costs within 5 years? Is this growth rate feasible?
Exhibit 2a – Break-Even Point Analysis for Optimistic Scenario (growth rate of 20%)